Five Otago University Press authors in 2019 Ockham Book Awards longlist

By Otago University Press | Posted: Wednesday January 30, 2019

Otago University Press congratulates all the authors in the longlist announced today for the 2019 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards.

Otago University Press publisher Rachel Scott says OUP is proud to have five publications longlisted.

“We are especially pleased at the diverse range of our authors who have been recognized at this level.”

Two Otago University publications have been longlisted for the The Royal Society Te Apārangi Award for General Non-Fiction – Filming the Colonial Past: The New Zealand Wars on Screen by Annabel Cooper and Hudson & Halls: The Food of Love by Joanne Drayton.

Three poetry collections published by Otago University Press are longlisted for the Poetry Award –
Edgeland and other Poems by David Eggleton, The Farewell Tourist by Alison Glenny and Walking to Jutland Street by Michael Steven.

The Ockham New Zealand Book Awards shortlist will be announced on 6 March, 2019. The winners will be announced at a ceremony on 14 May, held as the first public event of the 2019 Auckland Writers Festival.

Otago University Press Longlisted Authors

Annabel Cooper is Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, Gender and Social Work at the University of Otago. Her research covers a range of subjects in New Zealand cultural history.

Auckland-based writer Joanne Drayton is author of New York Times bestseller The Search for Anne Perry (2014), which was also a finalist in the New Zealand Book Awards. Her critically acclaimed Ngaio Marsh: Her life in crime (2008) was a Christmas pick in the UK’s Independent newspaper in 2009. In 2007 she was awarded a National Library Fellowship, and in 2017 she received a prestigious Logan Nonfiction Fellowship at the Carey Institute in Upstate New York.

Dunedin poet David Eggleton is one of New Zealand's leading poets, authors and critics. His last book The Conch Trumpet (Otago University Press, 2015), won the 2016 Ockham New Zealand Book Award for poetry. He was awarded the Prime Minister’s Award for Literary Achievement in Poetry in 2016 and the Fulbright-Creative New Zealand Pacific Writers’ Residency in 2017.

Alison Glenny lives in Paekākāriki. The Farewell Tourist was the winner of the Kathleen Grattan Poetry Award 2017 for an unpublished manuscript, judged by Bill Manhire.

Poet Michael Steven lives in Auckland but has spent much time in Dunedin, where he is currently resident as the 2019 University Book Shop and Robert Lord Writers' Cottage Trust Summer Writer in Residence. He was awarded the 2018 Todd New Writer’s Bursary. Walking to Jutland Street is his first collection.

© Copyright Dunedin City of Literature