50 Years of Read NZ

26 February 2022 6:00pm — 8:00pm

In 2022 Read NZ Te Pou Muramura proudly celebrates 50 years. Writers are at the heart of what we do, both in the enduring success of our Writers in Schools programme and in our wider work to promote reading to all Kiwis as a super power which can positively transform individuals, communities and our country. A prominent part of the literary landscape in Aotearoa New Zealand, the Book Council Lecture, now the Read NZ Te Pou Muramura Pānui is an opportunity for one of our country’s leading writers to discuss an aspect of literature close to their heart.

In honour of this celebration we ask recent Pānui writers, literary luminaries Witi Ihimaera (2015), Selina Tusitala Marsh (2016), Owen Marshall (2017), Joy Cowley (2018), Ben Brown (2020) and Renee (2021) - to reflect upon their writings, and ask “what has changed?”. Chaired by Read NZ Te Pou Muramura Chair Emeritus Peter Biggs.

Proudly supported by Read NZ.

More details and tickets here: 

50 Years of Read NZ | Aotearoa New Zealand Festival of the Arts

© Copyright Dunedin City of Literature